Change of University and Course to different State

Home Forums General Help Change of University and Course to different State

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Albus

Hello!
      I am studying in my 3rd semester and under student residence permit.
      However, I want to change my course because my current course of study has very small opportunity to extend my previous studies/knowledge and instead is focused on something I don’t want to consider as a future career. I was slightly misguided about the goal and content of the course before I came to this course and the courses are very limited to gain knowledge and expertise in my desired industry.

Recently, I have carefully studied some courses from other universities and applied to some which are more relevant to my desired job market and build-on/extend my previous studies. I received admission letters recently and these new courses have enrollment deadlines by mid April. However, the issue seems to be that, nearly all of these courses fall under a different faculty and field compared to the current course I am attending. In this situation, what are the steps to take to switch over to these courses?

Is it simply that I de-register from the current university at the end of current semester and then enroll to the new university and continue with city registration and start my new studies or do I have to follow some other procedures, like attaining new permission for change of field or even go back to my country and apply for a new visa?

P.S: I have recently received an extended residence permit with long enough duration to complete the new course in time.
      Note: I also heard that changing course after starting of 4th semester is considered special case and must be approved by government and other legal procedures must be followed, so I want to take precautions to not reach that special situation.

admin
      Keymaster

Hi Albus,